

### **Full Council**

Minutes of meeting held in Lewes Leisure Centre, Mountfield Road, Lewes on 27 May 2021 at 6.00 pm.

#### Present:

Councillor Adrian Ross (Chair).

Councillors Christine Brett (Vice-Chair), Sam Adeniji, Graham Amy, Robert Banks, Nancy Bikson, Matthew Bird, Liz Boorman, Roy Burman, Julie Carr, Roy Clay, Chris Collier, Phil Davis, Sharon Davy, Johnny Denis, Lynda Duhigg, Stephen Gauntlett, Tom Jones, Christoph von Kurthy, Isabelle Linington, Jim Lord, Sylvia Lord, James MacCleary, Sean MacLeod, Imogen Makepeace, Milly Manley, William Meyer, Zoe Nicholson, Emily O'Brien, Laurence O'Connor, Ruth O'Keeffe, Nicola Papanicolaou, Keira Rigden, Christine Robinson, Geoff Rutland, Richard Turner, Steve Saunders and Linda Wallraven.

#### Officers in attendance:

Robert Cottrill (Chief Executive), Oliver Dixon (Head of Legal Services), Simon Russell (Head of Democratic Services) and Sarah Lawrence (Senior Committee Officer).

#### 1 Election of the Chair of the Council

Councillor Ross welcomed Councillors to the meeting, and advised that two nominations had been received for the election of the Chair of the Council for 2021/22 – for Councillor Christine Brett and Councillor Richard Turner, and invited Councillors to formally propose the nominations.

Councillor Nicholson proposed and Councillor Clay seconded the nomination of Councillor Brett to be elected as the Chair of the Council for 2021/22.

Councillor Linington proposed and Councillor Davy seconded the nomination of Councillor Turner to be elected as the Chair of the Council for 2021/22

The two nominations were put to the vote and by 21 votes to 16 (with 1 abstention) it was:

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Brett be elected as the Chair of the Council for 2021/22.

Councillor Brett then signed her statutory declaration of acceptance of office as Chair of the Council and took the chair.

In her speech of acceptance of her election as Chair, Councillor Brett advised that her theme for the year around which her fund raising would be based would be 'Improving Food Security'. She thanked the outgoing Chair, Councillor Ross, for his work over the last year.

# 2 Appointment of the Vice-Chair of the Council

The Chair invited members to formally propose the nominations for Vice-Chair of the Council received in advance of the meeting for Councillor Ross and Councillor Wallraven

Councillor MacCleary proposed and Councillor O'Connor seconded the nomination of Councillor Ross to be appointed as Vice-Chair of the Council for 2021/22.

Councillor Boorman proposed and Councillor Turner seconded the nomination of Councillor Wallraven to be appointed as Vice-Chair of the Council for 2021/22.

The two nominations were put to the vote and by 21 votes to 17 it was:

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Ross be appointed as the Vice-Chair of the Council for 2021/22.

Councillor Ross then signed the statutory declaration of acceptance of office as Vice-Chair.

### 3 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Maskell, Miller and Peterson.

### 4 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were made.

#### 5 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 25 February 2021 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chair of the Council.

### 6 Urgent Items

There were no urgent items.

#### 7 Announcements

A list of Councillor Ross' engagements as Chair of the Council made since the last meeting of the Council were noted. No other announcements were made.

## 8 Result of the District Council By-Elections 2021

The Chair of the Council drew the Council's attention to the results of the District By-Elections held on 6 May 2021.

She formally welcomed Councillor Richard Turner (Seaford East Ward) and Councillor Linda Wallraven (Seaford West Ward) back to the Council.

# 9 Appointments

The Leader of the Council, Councillor MacCleary advised that it was his intention to continue with the current Cabinet Member appointments which were as follows:

Cabinet Member	Portfolio
Councillor James MacCleary	Leader of the Council
	Regeneration and Prosperity
Councillor Zoe Nicholson	Deputy Leader
	Finance
Councillor Emily O'Brien	Planning and Infrastructure
Councillor Julie Carr	Recycling, Waste and Open
	Spaces
Councillor Matthew Bird	Sustainability
Councillor Meyer	Housing
Councillor Denis	Communities and Customers
Councillor O'Keeffe	Tourism and Devolution
Councillor Collier	Performance and People

The Chair of the Council drew the Councillors' attention to the list of nominations contained in the agenda for members and chairs of committees and other council bodies (Appendix 1) and outside bodies (Appendix 2) in accordance with proportionality of the Council. As there were no bodies for which there were more nominations than places, she confirmed that the recommendations could be dealt with as one item.

Councillor MacCleary moved and Councillor Nicholson seconded that the recommendations in the report be approved, and this was put to the vote.

#### **RESOLVED:**

- a) To approve the appointments of members to Committees and Other Bodies and as Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees and as set out in Appendix 1 to the agenda report;
- To approve the appointment of members to serve on outside and joint bodies as amended as set out at Minute Appendix 2 to the agenda report;
- c) To appoint all members of the Council to the 'approved list' of members appointed as substitute members in accordance with the Council's Rules of Procedure, except where prohibited by those rules such as for Licensing Committee and Cabinet.; and
- d) To note the Leader of the Council's appointments to Cabinet, the individual areas of responsibility allocated to the Cabinet and the allocation of those areas of responsibility to the members of the Cabinet as advised at the meeting.

## 10 Annual Pay Policy Statement

Councillor Collier moved and Councillor MacCleary seconded and it was:

**RESOLVED** – That the Council notes the Pay Policy Statement for 2021/22 and approves it for publication on the Council's website.

# 11 Chailey Neighbourhood Plan

Councillor Davy moved and Councillor Linington seconded the recommendation from the Cabinet Member for Planning and Infrastructure to adopt the Chailey Neighbourhood Plan, following a majority 'yes' vote at referendum. In recommending this adoption, congratulations were sent to the Chailey Neighbourhood Plan team and Parish Council on their development of the plan.

**RESOLVED** – That the Chailey Neighbourhood Plan be formally made and adopted as part of the statutory development plan for the District, following a majority 'yes' vote at referendum.

# 12 Calendar of meetings 2021/22

The Chair of the Council drew members' attention to the Calendar of Meetings for 2021/22 included in the agenda for ratification, which included two changes since considered at the last meeting:

- Audit and Standards to be moved to 27 September (from 13 September)
- Planning Applications Committee to revert to its normal start time of 5 pm.

Councillor Macleod moved and Councillor O'Keeffe seconded and it was:

**RESOLVED** – To approve the Calendar of Meetings for 2021/22.

# 13 Urgent decisions taken by the Cabinet or Cabinet Members

In accordance with the Policy and Performance Committee Procedure Rule 17, the Council received details of a decision taken by the Leader under special urgency procedures in relation to the Restart Grants Scheme and made on 26 March 2021.

### 14 Standards Panel Decision

In accordance with the Council's adopted Code of Conduct Hearings Procedure, the Council received a copy of a decision of a Standards Panel held on 19 March 2021 for information.

### 15 Date of Next Meeting

It was noted that the next scheduled meeting of the Council was due to take place on Thursday 15 July 2021 at 6 pm.

The meeting ended at 6.33 pm

Councillor Christine Brett (Chair of the Council)